WWE Backlash 2016 Results: Who Is WWE Champion?

WWE Backlash 2016 is live on the WWE Network! But who left as the champion: Dean Ambrose or AJ Styles?

It’s the first Smackdown-exclusive pay-per-view of the new brand split! However, this is a pretty sparse card, due in large part to the sudden news that, due to medical issues, Randy Orton is off the show. He had been scheduled to face Bray Wyatt, so I would imagine WWE is working on finding a replacement for that match. But, as it stands right now, we have the main event featuring Dean Ambrose defending the WWE Championship against No. 1 contender AJ Styles, along with Becky Lynch, Nikki Bella, Carmella, Natalya, Alexa Bliss and Naomi competing in a six-pack challenge to crown the first Smackdown Women’s champion. We also have The Miz defending the Intercontinential championship against Dolph Ziggler, as well as the Usos competing against The Hype Bros for a spot in the finals of the Smackdown Tag Team Championship tournament, due to the injury inflicted on American Alpha’s Chad Gable on Smackdown. The winners will face Heath Slater and Rhyno in the finals of the tournament later in the show.

Who were the big winners at WWE Backlash 2016? Check out the results below:

WWE Backlash 2016 Results: Who Is WWE Champion?

Source: YouTube


Kickoff Show

-Baron Corbin defeated Apollo Crews.

Main Card

-Becky Lynch defeated Alexa Bliss, Naomi, Natalya, Nikki Bella and Carmella in a six-pack challenge to become the first-ever WWE Smackdown Women’s Champion.

-The Usos defeated The Hype Bros via submission when Zack Ryder tapped out to the half-crab/armlock (Konnan’s old Tequila Sunrise from WCW) to advance to the finals of the Smackdown Tag Team Championship tournament.

-The Miz defeated Dolph Ziggler to retain the Intercontinental championship after Maryse sprayed something in Ziggler’s eyes, leading to Miz hitting the Skull-Crushing Finale for the win.

-Bray Wyatt defeated Randy Orton by forfeit.

-Kane defeated Bray Wyatt with help from Randy Orton.

-Rhyno and Heath Slater defeated The Usos to become the first-ever Smackdown Tag Team Champions.

-A.J. Styles defeated Dean Ambrose to win the WWE Championship after a low blow and a Styles Clash.

What do you think of the results? Sound off in the comments!

And for more news, check out the results of last night’s explosive UFC 203 show!

Sports NewsResultsSmackdownWWE