‘Spotlight’ Named Best Picture by L.A. Film Critics Association

Awards season continues, as the race to Oscar gold intensifies with the announcement of the winners for the Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards.

Tom McCarthy’s Spotlight, the drama centered on the Boston Globe’s investigation into sexual misconduct by the Catholic Church, was named the Best Picture of 2015, just barely beating out runner-up, Mad Max: Fury Road, which had previously been named Best Picture by the National Board of Review. In addition to its award for Best Picture, Spotlight earned best screenplay for director McCarthy and co-writer Josh Singer.

However, while Mad Max: Fury Road fell just short of the top prize, it won Best Director honors for helmer George Miller, in addition to awards for cinematography and production design. As for the acting categories, Michael Fassbender earned his first major citation of the season for his role in Steve Jobs, while Best Actress went to Charlotte Rampling for 45 Years. In supporting categories, Michael Shannon won for 99 Homes, while Alicia Vikander took home supporting actress honors for Ex Machina.

The winners will be honored at a ceremony on Jan. 9. Until then, check out all the winners below:


'Spotlight' Named Best Picture by L.A. Film Critics Association

Credit: Open Road Films

Picture: Spotlight. Runner-up: Mad Max: Fury Road.

Director: George Miller, Mad Max: Fury Road. Runner-up: Todd Haynes, Carol.

Actor: Michael Fassbender, Steve Jobs. Runner-up: Géza Röhrig, Son of Saul.

Actress: Charlotte Rampling, 45 Years. Runner-up: Saoirse Ronan, Brooklyn.

Supporting actor: Michael Shannon, 99 Homes. Runner-up: Mark Rylance, Bridge of Spies.

Supporting actress: Alicia Vikander, Ex Machina. Runner-up: Kristen Stewart, Clouds of Sils Maria.

Screenplay: Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy, Spotlight. Runner-up: Charlie Kaufman, Anomalisa.

Animation: Anomalisa. Runner-up: Inside Out.

Foreign-language film: Son of Saul. Runner-up: The Tribe.

Documentary/nonfiction film: Amy. Runner-up: The Look of Silence.

New Generation: Ryan Coogler, Creed.

Film editing: Hank Corwin, The Big Short. Runner-up: Margaret Sixel, Mad Max: Fury Road.

Cinematography: John Seale, Mad Max: Fury Road. Runner-up: Edward Lachman, Carol.

Production design: Colin Gibson, Mad Max: Fury Road. Runner-up: Judy Becker, Carol.

Music score: Carter Burwell, Anomalisa and Carol. Runner-up: Ennio Morricone, The Hateful Eight.

Special citation: David Shepard, for his invaluable work in film preservation, particularly of movies from the silent era.

Lifetime achievement: Anne V. Coates

What do you think of the winners? Sound off in the comments!

And for more film awards news, find out who the New York Film Critics picked as their best of the year!

Movies NewsWinners List