Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Announces 2016 Inductees

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced its inductees for 2016 this morning. The list of recipients for popular music’s highest honor includes Steve Miller, Cheap Trick, N.W.A., Chicago, and Deep Purple.

Of course, some nominees didn’t make the cut for induction this year. Those who just missed out on a Hall of Fame induction this year included Janet Jackson, The Smiths, The Cars, The J.B.’s, Chaka Khan, Los Lobos, Nine Inch Nails, The Spinners, Yes, and Chic, who are on their 10th nomination now.

Naturally, N.W.A. had a major boost this year with the release of Straight Outta Compton. The rap group had been on the eligibility list for three years now, but the biopic helped put them over the top, leading to a resurgence in N.W.A. recognition not only from the general public but from music critics and industry veterans as well. But they weren’t the only group to be boosted this year, as Chicago won the second-ever fan vote with a stunning margin of 37.7 million votes.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony takes place on April 8 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, and it will air on HBO at some point afterwards, although no air date has been announced.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Announces 2016 Inductees

Credit: Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Museum

What do you think of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees for 2016? Sound off in the comments!

And for more music news, watch Usher and Jordan Smith deliver a vocal masterclass on The Voice Season Finale!

Music NewsRock and Roll Hall of Fame