National Society of Film Critics Declares ‘Spotlight’ Best Picture 2015

Now that 2015 is in the bag, only one major critics’ organization remains to offer their thoughts on the year’s top films. And the result is…well, it’s not exactly surprising, given how this awards season is shaping up.

The National Society of Film Critics has declared Tom McCarthy’s Spotlight the Best Picture of the year at its 50th annual voting meeting, held earlier today at the Film Society of Lincoln Center in New York City. The current Oscar frontrunner, which centers on The Boston Globe’s investigation into child sex abuse cases in the Boston area, also earned screenplay honors for director McCarthy and co-writer Josh Singer. In acting categories, Charlotte Rampling was named Best Actress for 45 Years, while Michael B. Jordan was cited for his stellar performance in Creed. Meanwhile, Kristen Stewart claimed Best Supporting Actress for her role in Clouds of Sils Maria, and Mark Rylance won Best Supporting Actor for Bridge of Spies.

The only film to match Spotlight by winning multiple awards was Carol, the period drama from director Todd Haynes. The film earned Best Director honors for Haynes, as well as Best Cinematography for Ed Lachman.

But who were the other winners at the annual awards ceremony? Check out the full list of winners below:

National Society of Film Critics Declares 'Spotlight' Best Picture 2015

Credit: Open Road Films


Best picture: Spotlight

Best actor: Michael B. Jordan, Creed

Best actress: Charlotte Rampling, 45 Years

Best supporting actor: Mark Rylance, Bridge of Spies

Best supporting actress: Kristen Stewart, Clouds of Sils Maria

Best director: Todd Haynes, Carol

Best screenplay: Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy, Spotlight

Best cinematography: Ed Lachman, Carol

Best foreign-language film: Timbuktu

Best non-fiction film: Amy

Film Heritage: Film Society of Lincoln Center/Jake Perlin, Michelle Materre, Tell It Like It Is: Black Independents in New York, 1968-1986

Film Heritage: Criterion Collection/LiImmagine Ritrovate for the restoration and packaging of The Apu Trilogy by Satyajit Ray

Film Heritage: Association Chaplin for supervising the digital restoration of Charlie Chaplin’s Essanay Films

Special Citation for a Film Awaiting American Distribution: Radu Muntean’s One Floor Below

What do you think of the winners? Sound off in the comments!

And for more movie news, find out what latest box office record was just smashed by Star Wars: The Force Awakens!

Movies National Society of Film CriticsNewsWinners List