Emmanuel Lubezki Wins ASC Award for Cinematography for ‘Birdman’

Emmanuel Lubezki is one step closer to Oscar glory, as the cinematographer earned top honors at the 29th annual American Society of Cinematographers Awards for his work on Birdman.

He won over a crowded field that included Oscar Faura for The Imitation Game, Roger Deakins for Unbroken, Robert Yeoman for The Grand Budapest Hotel, and Dick Pope for Mr. Turner. Along with Birdman, The Grand Bupapest Hotel, Mr. Turner and Unbroken are nominated for Best Cinematography at the Oscars, so this puts Lubezki out in front, although a victory is by no means certain. Only half of the past ten ASC winners have gone on to win the Oscar. Of course, Lubezki is no stranger to Oscar, or ASC, glory: he won both awards just last year for Gravity.

In television, the ASC honors went to Jonathan Freeman for Boardwalk Empire (“Golden Days for Boys and Girls”) for a regular TV series, while John Lindley won in the best TV movie, miniseries or pilot category for Manhattan.

Meanwhile, Barbra Streisand was given the ASC Board of Governors Award, while director of photography John Bailey accepted the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award.

But who else won big at the ASC Awards 2015? Check out the full list of winners below:

Emmanuel Lubezki Wins ASC Award for Cinematography for 'Birdman'

Credit: Fox Searchlight Pictures


Theatrical Motion Picture
Emmanuel Lubezki

Episode Of A Regular Series
Boardwalk Empire, “Golden Days for Boys and Girls” (HBO)
Jonathan Freeman

Television Movie, Miniseries or Pilot
Manhattan, Pilot (WGN America)
John Lindley

Spotlight Award
Peter Flinckenberg, Concrete Night (Betoniyö)

Lifetime Achievement Award
John Bailey (Ordinary People, The Big Chill, American Gigolo)

Board of Governors Award
Barbara Streisand

Career Achievement in Television Award
Bill Roe (The X-Files, Castle)

International Award
Phil Méheux (Casino Royale)

Presidents Award
Matthew F. Leonetti (Poltergeist)

Bud Stone Award
Denny Clairmont and Otto Nemenz

Movies American Society of CinematographersASCBirdmanNewsWinners List