‘Skyfall’, ‘Anna Karenina’, ‘Mirror Mirror’ win Costume Designers Guild Awards

Credit: Jan Thijs/Relativity Media

Credit: Jan Thijs/Relativity Media

The Costume Designers Guild held its 15th annual awards ceremony. With awards for film being split into three separate categories, the Guild had the opportunity to reward multiple films currently in the running for the Costume Design Oscar. In this case, they chose two: ‘Anna Karenina’ in the Period category, and ‘Mirror Mirror’ in the Fantasy category. The lighthearted retelling of the Snow White tale was outfitted by the late Eiko Ishioka, who was awarded posthumously. The third film award, for costuming in a Contemporary work, went to ‘skyfall’. In addition, ‘Les Miserables’ star Anne Hathaway was honored with the LACOSTE Spotlight Award while Saturday Night Live head honcho Lorne Michaels received the Distinguished Collaborator Award.

In TV categories, ‘American Horror Story’, ‘Downton Abbey’ and ‘Smash’ took top honors.

Full list of winners via HitFix:

Excellence in Contemporary Film
“Skyfall” (Jany Temime)

Excellence in Period Film
“Anna Karenina” (Jacqueline Durran)

Excellence in Fantasy Film
“Mirror Mirror” (Eiko Ishioka

Outstanding Contemporary Television Series
“Smash” (Molly Maginnis)

Outstanding Period/Fantasy Television Series
“Downton Abbey” (Carolina McCall)

Outstanding Made for Television Movie/Mini-Series
“American Horror Story: Asylum” (Lou Eyrich)

Excellence in Commercial Costume Design
“Captain Morgan Black” (Judianna Makovsky)

Career Achievement Award
Eduardo Castro (TV)
Judianna Makovsky (Film)

Distinguished Service Award
David Le Vey

Distinguished Collaborator Award
Lorne Michaels

LACOSTE Spotlight Award
Anne Hathaway

Movies Anne HathawayCostume DesignCostume Designers GuildPrecursor AwardsWinners

Got Something to Add?